Album Review: WOW Hits 2015

2014 was a very fruitful year for the Christian Contemporary Music Industry. There is a plethora of 2014 songs I am still cherishing greatly until now from first listen. If someone would ask me at this moment what album I will recommend, it will be WOW Hits 2015 Deluxe. Released in September 2014, I must say this two-disc WOW edition is the best release, to date, in its kind. The tracks are well-chosen, and I am sure you’ll enjoy all of them.

To be honest, this is the first time I enjoyed a compilation album so richly that I almost played it all the time for days. As I said on my review of WOW Worship Lime—for compilation albums to survive in the future, they should be meticulous in choosing the songs, which they have done brilliantly on WOW 2015. Now, there are two simple reasons that make this release worth having. First, it gathers some of the biggest names in CCM Industry such as Newsboys, Sidewalk Prophets, Francesca Battistelli, Big Daddy Weave, Toby Mac, Chris Tomlin, Third Day, Hillsong United and many more. Last, it features numerous of today’s most loved Christian hits, where 11 are #1 radio songs, 17 more in the top 5, plus 4 songs in the top 10. Some in the list are Hillsong United’s Oceans, Steve Curtis-Chapman’s Glorious Unfolding, Alive by Hillsong Young and Free, and More Of You by Colton Dixon. 

Overall, WOW Hits 2015 offers you a wide access to the world of CCM by giving you simply the best of today. If you’re a Christian music geek, you know exactly what I am saying. If you are a newbie and just starting to explore the world of Christian music, WOW Hits 2015 is a very good choice to start with.
WOW HITS 2015 Track Listing:
1. We Believe – Newsboys
2. The Only Name (Yours Will Be) – Big Daddy Weave
3. Oceans (Where Feet May Fail) [Album Edit] – Hillsong United
4. Thrive – Casting Crowns
5. Do Something (Radio Version) – Matthew West
6. Back To You – Mandisa
7. Keep Making Me – Sidewalk Prophets
8. I Am – Crowder
9. Waterfall – Chris Tomlin
10. All The People Said Amen – Matt Maher
11. Shake – MercyMe
12. You Won’t Let Go – Michael W. Smith
13. My Heart Is Yours (Radio Version) – Passion (feat. Kristian Stanfill)
14. Glorious Unfolding (Radio Edit) – Steven Curtis Chapman
15. Forever (Radio Version) – Kari Jobe
16. I Will Follow – Jon Guerra
17. Beautiful – Dan Bremnes
18. Lay It Down – Sanctus Real
19. Mercy (Radio Version) – Matt Redman
20. Lift My Life Up – Unspoken

1. This Is Amazing Grace – Phil Wickham
2. Fix My Eyes – for KING & COUNTRY
3. Speak Life – TobyMac
4. Beautiful Day – Jamie Grace
5. Multiplied – NEEDTOBREATHE
6. More Of You – Colton Dixon
7. Write Your Story – Francesca Battistelli
8. No Man Is An Island – Tenth Avenue North
9. Press On – Building 429 (feat. Blanca Callahan)
10. Come Alive – Jeremy Camp
11. Alive (Radio Version) – Young & Free
12. Love Alone Is Worth The Fight – Switchfoot
13. Don’t Deserve You – Plumb
14. Your Love Is Like A River – Third Day
15. He Is With Us – Love & The Outcome
16. Satisfied – About A Mile
17. Words – Hawk Nelson (feat. Bart Millard)
18. American Noise – Skillet
19. Ready Set Go – Royal Tailor (feat. Capital Kings)

Disclosure: A review copy of WOW Hits 2015 Deluxe was provided for review by House of Praise, from whom you may purchase the album.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s