Album Review: Endless Praise by Planetshakers

I have had a privilege to write a review about Planetshakers’ recently released album, Endless Praise. Recorded LIVE at one of their conference nights, this new album comprises 14 tracks. Explosive, anthemic, and energetic are some of the words that describe it.

The album opens with the title track ‘Endless Praise’ which will excite any listener. The high volume of energy, guitars blasting out and sound effects are so much present. Over the years, this has become the ‘signature’ of Planetshakers in their albums. But wait, there’s more! You’ll find and hear more “praise party songs” all-throughout the album, including: Turn It Up, Dance, Praise You Lord, Oh Your Love, and We Are Free.

The second track ‘Turn It Up’ starts with synths and is somehow parallel to ‘This Is the Day’ also by Planetshakers. The tune and familiar dance beat will get you dancing onto the next track ‘Dance.’ This one is so explosive, and full of electronic effects. The entirety of the song is simply epic.

The next track ‘No Other Name’ is the first worship song in the album, and one of my favourites. Its melody and lyrical content will touch the heart of the worshipper. It’s like the modern remake of an old song. The whole six minutes of the song is spirit-moving; truly there’s no other name like JESUS. ‘Made for Worship’ is another gorgeous and touching worship song. There’s nothing more beautiful than hearing the people of God singing out loud, and giving all to Him. The track ‘Kiss Towards’ is so ethereal. In the silence of the crowd you could hear their heart worshipping. I could feel the intensity inside Natalie Ruiz, as her spirit sings in the overflow of the previous track.

Led by Joth Hunt, the next song ‘Unto God’ explodes with intensity as the song grows. The intimate worship moments with this song will bring you to your knees, as you sing “Holy is the Lord… Holy is the Lord.” The praise party is back with the synth-filled ‘Praise You Lord.’ I love the pre-chorus: “We are redeemed, set free, forgiven…” which prepares you for the singing of the joyful chorus. The bridge is a bold declaration of John 8:36—whom the Son sets free is free indeed. Another praise party song ‘Oh Your Love’ opens with heavy synths, bass and electronic mix effects. The whole song is a huge blast.

The victory and finished work of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ was declared in ‘Our God Reigns.’ This one is timely and ideal song for Easter. ‘Set Me Ablaze’ is a prayer put to song. A prayer asking for more of Jesus, more of His spirit, presence and power.Sam’s voice is fervent, and the crowd immediately grabs hold of the anthemic chorus, creating such a forceful and powerful moment. ‘Abide in me’ is also a prayer for more of God.

Last in the list of praise party songs is ‘We Are Free,’ which is laced with people’s shouting. The entirety of the track is well crafted which makes it my favourite track in the album. It’s easy to be learned, especially the bridge: “We are free, we are free and we have the Victory!” The studio recorded song ‘Leave Me Astounded’ ends the album. As it grows so does the intensity. The collection of voices brings power out of the song. What an awesome song to end the album.

I commend Planetshakers for another fantastic album. So far, this is one of the best albums in my collection. Their creativity, passion and dedication are manifested in this project. Two thumbs up!

Let endless praise resound in all the land, to the glory of Him who seats on the throne—Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s